DIY Cork Stamps

Happy Monday, y’all!! We were up bright and early this morning – me so I can blog this post & the hubs so he could finish some work for his teacher’s certification. Aaand I’ll probably need another cup of coffee by noon. The struggle is real, peeps. The struggle is real.

Any who, we had an eventful weekend! Our church hosts a volunteer appreciation dinner once a year for all of the serve teams in the church and each year, they somehow top the previous one. It’s always a wacky, crazy, belly laughs, fun night, full of ridiculousness. So that happened last night and boy howdy… what a night! It was medieval themed, complete with crowns and jousting. Yes, you read that correctly. Jousting. Oh! And our pastors made an epic music video remix of “What Does The Fox Say?”. Why, you ask? Because they’re awesome like that. I’ll post that video as soon as it’s up. And if you follow me on Instagram (_theculturedcavewoman), there’s a short clip of the hubs and I dueling it out in the jousting ring! I’d like to let the record state that I WON. I’d also like to believe it was fair and square, so let’s pretend, okay? Okay.

OH! And I got 2 of the most gorgeous chairs for our livingroom yesterday!! That’s a whole other post for another day, but here’s a sneak peek. Thank you, World Market, for fulfilling all of my heart’s desires. Gah, I would live in that store if I could.

LOVE at first sight!

LOVE at first sight!

And now, the REAL reason I wrote this blog post! Another Valentine’s Day craft!!! Yippee, right?! I’ve seen this craft all around Pinterest, so I decided to try it out myself. It was SO easy, only took 30 min and I didn’t even lose a finger. I’d call that a success! There are soo many possibilities with this craft – so dream big!

First, find some old corks (make sure they’re actual cork, not the foam corks!) & trace out your letters or symbols or whatever you’ve decided to do! And make sure you write the letters in a mirrored image. I didn’t on the “L” the first time and theeen realized it. Bah. ;)

.

.

Using an exacto knife, CAREFULLY (I repeat, CAREFULLLLLLLLLY), trace your letter with the knife, then cut sideways into the cork, to make the two cuts meet. The excess cork should pop out pretty easily. Do that on the remaining letters. It took me about 30 min to draw the letters and cut them out. The first few cuts are kinda nerve wracking, but I promise, it gets easier!!

.

.

.

.

Make sure your cuts are deep enough so the edges don’t smear ink everywhere! I went back later and trimmed mine down a bit more because of that very issue!

Alrighty, here’s how mine turned out! I LOVE them!! And now I want to make cork stamps of EVERYTHING!

.

.

 

.

.

 

.

.

So, what do you think?? I’d love to hear from you!! You can find me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram (search “theculturedcavewoman”) :)

2 thoughts on “DIY Cork Stamps

    • Thank you so much!!! Like I said, saw it on Pinterest and decided to give it a go! SO easy! I love that you could do almost anything with these :) I’d love to hear from you if you try it!!

Leave a Reply

